Saskatchewan is a Canadian province, the middle one of the three Canadian Prairie Provinces. Saskatchewan is bordered to the west by Alberta, to the north by the Northwest Territories, by Manitoba to the east and to the south by the U.S. states of Montana and North Dakota.

Local residents live predominantly in the southern half of the province. Other big cities are Prince Albert, Moose Jaw, Yorkton, Swift Current and North Battleford.

Saskatchewan was first explored by Europeans in 1690 and occupied in 1774, before that it was inhabited by various indigenous groups. Together with Alberta, Saskatchewan is one of two inland provinces of Canada.

The highest point of the province is at 1 468 metres altitude and is located in the Cypress Hills. It is the point with the highest elevation between the Rocky Mountains and Quebec. The lowest point is located on the shore of Lake Athabaska at 213 m above sea level. The province has fourteen major drainage areas of various rivers and the river basins drain into the Arctic Ocean, Hudson Bay and the Gulf of Mexico.


  • State : Canada
  • Land area : 588,239 km2