Prince Edward Island

Prince Edward Island is the smallest of the ten Canadian provinces and covers the island of the same name. Prince Edward Island is located in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, west of Cape Breton Island, north of the Nova Scotia peninsula, and east of New Brunswick.

On the south coast it is separated from Nova Scotia and New Brunswick by the Northumberland Strait. The island has two urban areas. The larger surrounds Charlottetown Harbour and is located in the middle of the south coast of the island. It contains the capital city Charlottetown, and the suburban towns Cornwall and Stratford as well as surrounding villages. There is a much smaller urban area surrounding Summerside Harbour, situated on the south coast 40 km west of Charlottetown harbour, which contains primarily of the city of Summerside and smaller nearby villages.


  • State : Canada
  • Land area : 5,686 km2

Map of Prince Edward Island

List of cities/area in Prince Edward Island