The capital city of Alberta is Edmonton. Calgary is the largest city and it is the industrial centre of Alberta. It is located in the southern part of the province. Other important towns are Brooks, Banff, Canmore, Fort McMurray, Grande Prairie, Lethbridge, Lloydminster, Medicine Hat and Red Deer.

Alberta is named after Princess Louise Caroline Alberta, the fourth daughter of Queen Victoria. Theprincess was also the wife of Sir John Campbell, who was Governor General of Canada in the years 1878 to 1883. Lake Louise was also named in honour of Princess Louise.

English is the native language of 81.84 % of the population of the province. In second place is Chinese spoken by 2.69 % of the population. This is closely followed by German (2.68 %). The share of the population who declare German roots is much greater. Up to 20.9 % of the inhabitants have German ethnic origin. The French language is the mother tongue of 2.02 % of the population of the province.


  • State : Canada
  • Land area : 640,082 km2